Thursday, July 22, 2010

Euro playoffs

The competition to find Scotland's teams for the European Championships will be at the Dewar's Rinks in Perth, October 29-31. The draw for that event is now online here.

Three teams will compete in both women's and men's competitions. In the former, Sarah Reid's team get the first round bye, while Eve Muirhead takes on Gail Munro at 3pm on Friday, October 29. The format is a double round robin, with the last regulation game scheduled for the Sunday morning. If tiebreakers are necessary, these will be played on Sunday afternoon and evening.

In the men's competition, former teammates David Murdoch and Ewan MacDonald clash in the opening game on the Friday at 3pm, with Hammy McMillan having the first round bye. The men's sessions are at the same time as the women throughout the weekend.

The winning teams will represent Scotland at the 2010 European Championships, in Champery, Switzerland. This competition begins on Saturday December 4, and finishes up Saturday December 11. The event website is here. I note that the weekly passes for the A Division arena are already on sale.