Sunday, March 07, 2010

Scottish Winners 2010

The Bruadar Scottish Men's Curling Champions 2010. L-R: Ross Hepburn, Craig Wilson, David Smith and Warwick Smith, with the championship trophy, aka the Scotch Cup.

The Columba Cream Scottish Ladies Curling Champions 2010. L-R: Eve Muirhead, Kelly Wood, Lorna Vevers and Annie Laird. They are with a new trophy, the Jubilee Rosebowl, which has been gifted to the Royal Club by Kathleen and Robbie Scott, through the Ladies Branch, for the purpose of being presented annually and in perpetuity to the winning team at the Scottish Championship.

The trophy, which is more than one hundred years old, comes from Highland Perthshire and was used for outdoor bonspiels on lochs and ponds around Weem, Dunalastair Estate and Tummel Bridge, the area where Kathleen and Robbie first took to the ice.

Pics © Skip Cottage. Another batch of pics, and a roundup of the weekend sometime tomorrow.