Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Winners at Forfar

Congratulations to James Carswell, George McConnell, Ben Bremner and Peter Dagen who won the Forfar Under-17 event today, and in so doing secured the U17 Slam title. The Carswell team beat Rachel Hannen, Rachael Halliday, Lauren McIntyre and Alison Fyfe in the final which was only decided in the last end. It could not have been any more exciting. A special mention to the girls, who are going to be my 'Team of the Two Days after Boxing Day'.

Had they won, Team Hannen would have taken the Girls' Slam. They didn't, so that title will go to Katie Murray, Sophie Jackson, Gayle Allan and Kirsty Morton with Amy Bryce, alternate, whose record on points over three events just pipped Rachel and her team. So close! The Slam prizes are to be presented later in the season.

All the scores are here.

More story and more pics later - not sure how much later, it may even be tomorrow.

Above: Duncan Menzies, who will skip Team GB in the curling event at the Winter Youth Olympic Games next month, presents the replica solid silver, immensely valuable, Forfar U17 trophy, to L-R James, George, Ben and Peter. Photo © Skip Cottage.