Friday, December 09, 2011

Strathcona Cup Team Announcement

The names of the sixty curlers for Scotland's Strathcona Cup team have been announced today, see here. This group will split into three sides and tour different parts of Canada in January 2013 for three weeks.

Apparently, ninety applications were received for the sixty places.

I note the names of two former Scottish Champion skips, Barton Henderson (1980) and Billy Howat (1985) on the list, alongside the chairman of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club Board, Willie Nicoll, and two former chairmen, Mike Ferguson and Bob Tait.

The history of the Strathcona Cup can be read in this precis by Alan Stanfield here, and there are photos of the trophy in Robin Copland's article here.