Thursday, December 22, 2011

Olympic Athletes of the Year

Team Brewster has been awarded the BOA Olympic Athlete of the Year trophy 2011 in the curling category. The British Olympic Association announced the list of recipients yesterday, see here. Well done to Michael Goodfellow, Scott Andrews, Greg Drummond and Tom Brewster, L-R, above.

The award was introduced in 2005 to mark the BOA’s Centenary Year and the success of London being awarded the 2012 Olympic Games. The BOA presented a trophy to each of thirty-three summer and winter Olympic sports for them to award on an annual basis to their top performing athlete of the year.

It is usually British Curling which puts the names forward for our sport. I do not know if that was the case this year.

It's the first time the award has gone to a curling team, rather than to an individual. Previous winners of the award were Eve Muirhead last year, Ewan MacDonald in 2009, David Murdoch in 2008, Kelly Wood in 2007, and Warwick Smith in 2006.

Here's part of a quote from Andy Hunt, Team GB Chef de Mission and BOA Chief Executive:
“The Olympic Athlete of the Year award celebrates the excellence of athletes who represent the very best of British talent in their respective Olympic sports. I wish all the award winners the very best as they enter the home straight of their preparations for London 2012, or continue their journey towards Sochi 2014.” Read more here.

The photo of the Bruadar Scottish Champions 2011 following their win at the Dewar's Centre is © Skip Cottage.