Monday, January 09, 2012

Scottish Wheelchair Team Selection

The Scottish team for the World Wheelchair Curling Championship has been selected, see here. Aileen Neilson, Angie Malone, Gregor Ewan, Jim Gault and Tom Killin will compete in Chuncheon City, South Korea, February 18-25. National Coach is Tony Zummack.

Scotland won silver medals last time, see here. Jim Gault is new to the squad for Korea.

The ten countries competing in Chuncheon City are the host nation Korea, Canada, Scotland, Norway, Russia, China, Sweden and USA, Italy and Slovakia.

The world event will be the second to count towards qualification for the Paralympic Curling in Sochi in 2014. That event will have ten teams. Russia, as host, receives an automatic entry and so nine places remain up for grabs. Scotland, which gathers the GB points, already has accumulated ten points, by virtue of last season's silver place finish.

There's more about the 2012 world competition on the World Curling Federation website here, including a photo of the venue. The schedule of play is available to download. I see that the Scots will have China and Norway on the opening day.

And since I'm talking about wheelchair curling, I was delighted to see that Chris Daws has picked up the baton from Eric Eales and has a new wheelchair curling blog here.