Sunday, October 03, 2010

Gray Wins Braehead Open

Here are the finalists in the Braehead Open today. Back L-R: Alasdair Guthrie, David Soutar, Logan Gray (skip), Lindsay Gray. Front: Sarah Reid (skip), Kerry Barr, Kay Adams and Barbara McFarlane.

Logan's team (with David substituting for Iain Stobo) had beaten Peter Wilson in the quarters and Neil Joss in the semifinal. Sarah's side had defeated John Hamilton in the quarters and John Dunn in the semi.

The final was a great game, tied 3-3 after six ends. Then, in a seventh end with lots of stones in play, Logan's side came out with two shots, against the head, and went into the final end two in front. Two great skip's stones finished it off in the last end. Sarah doubled to lie hidden with her first. Then Gray played a raise-takeout with his last, and that was it!

Bruce Harley presented the trophy to the winning team, above.

The other teams in the roster of the winners were those skipped by Ian Gillespie (Seniors), Jackie Lockhart (Ladies), Adrian Meikle (Non-Scottish), John Tait (U-25) and Fergus Corbett (Best Braehead). Chay Telfer, Murray Young, Andrew Ballantyne and David Miller won the Low Road. Finland's Markus Sipila, Pekka Peura, Janne Ojanpera and Juha Paajarvi won the Middle Road.

I plan to post more pics from today's visit to Braehead sometime tomorrow, once I've gone through them all.

Photos © Skip Cottage