Friday, October 22, 2010

Norwegians Top at Kinross

Norway won the Kinross Wheelchair Curling International. That's the winning team in the photo above: Per Fagerhoi (alternate), Runar Bjornstad (2nd), Maria Duncan (lead, from Kinross Wheelchair Curling Club), Rune Lorensten (skip), Jostein Stardahl (3rd). The runners-up were from Switzerland: Rony Liechtenhan (skip), Manfred Bollinger (3rd), Claudia Huttenmoser (2nd), Daniel Meyer (lead) and Sybille Steiner (alternate). That's Councilor Willie Robertson and Brian Martin of Ailsa Craig Jewellery in the photo above.

Archie Bogie reports, "In the final session Norway had a very tight game against Scotland 1, skipped by Rosemary Lenton, and right up to the last end Rosemary had a chance to make two shots to tie the game. But she could only score one and lost by only one shot. Norway maintained their 100% record to claim first place.

It was close for second spot with three teams in contention. Eventually Switzerland managed to beat Scotland 4 (Murray Cran) in their final game to tie with Scotland 1 on 8 points. The countback on ends gave second place to Switzerland by one end.

A big thank you must go to all the competitors for making the competition the success that it is and to all our volunteer helpers, the Green Hotel, Steven Kerr and his ice staff for the excellent ice conditions, Dor Borthwick for umpiring, Councilor Willie Robertson from Perth and Kinross Council for their support, and once again to our sponsor Brian Martin of Ailsa Craig Jewellery for donating the beautiful prizes."

The organisers intend to hold the competition again in 2011 and hopefully more international squads can make the trip to Kinross next time.

My photos of second day action are here.

Winners' pic courtesy of Archie Bogie.