Sunday, February 13, 2011

Scottish Senior Champions

The gallery was packed for the finals of the Scottish Seniors Championships at the Lanarkshire Ice Rink today.

And it would be Linda Young, Margaret Scott, Hazel Swankie and Fiona DeVries who won the Scottish Senior Women's Championship beating Isobel Waddell's team in the final, at the last stone. You can find all the results on the Royal Club website here.

You couldn't have written the script for the women's final. That's the scoreboard above, guarded by Hazel Swankie. Team Young were 7-0 up after three ends, but Isobel Waddell, Elma McCulloch, Edna Nelson and Lynne Stevenson fought back valiantly to tie the game going into the last end!

Fiona and Hazel on their skip's stone.

Linda Young

Isobel delivers, with Lynne and Edna ready to sweep.

Trying to get it around the winger.

The eighth end, going away from the bar, and able to be watched in the mirrors. Let's just say there was drama. A crucial pickup, near misses ......

... and after Linda's last stone it needed a measure to confirm that it would be the Linda Young team which will be Scotland's representatives at the World Senior Championship at Saint Paul, Minnesota, in April!

Meanwhile, in the men's championship, Colin Hamilton, Mike Dick, Ian MacPherson and Trevor Dodds were up against Ken Horton, Gordon Butler, Angus Storrie and Eddie Binks. That's Ian and Trevor on Colin's stone.

Ken and Gordon. After reaching the semi last year, Gordon had recruited Ken to be their skip for this year's challenge.

And it all paid off handsomely. Team Horton got the jump early and there seemed no way that Colin and his team could get back. It was to be Horton all the way.

Colin and Mike.

This is NOT the usual pic of all the team discussing what shot to play. In fact, Colin and Mike are thinking of the shot out of picture. The front end, on the right, is wondering what they would play. And the opposition skip, Ken Horton, is pretty sure what he would do, and is telling Gus Storrie so.

So it was Ken Horton, Gordon Butler, Angus Storrie and Eddie Binks who won the Senior Men's title. Way to go, Reform CC!

Photos © Skip Cottage