Thursday, February 10, 2011

Henderson Bishop 2011

I was reminded yesterday that as soon as next week's Scottish Championships are over, attention will turn to the Henderson Bishop, the premier competition of the Ladies' Branch of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club outside of the Scottish Championship. The competition has been going since 1929 and is to be held this year at Murrayfield, February 21-24.

There have been local qualifiers to find representative ladies' rinks from Stranraer, Waterfront, Murrayfield, Perth, Stirling, Kirkcaldy, Lanarkshire, Lockerbie, Greenacres, Inverness, Kinross, Border, Braehead, Forfar, Aberdeen, Atholl and Ayr. It's a big event.

So what reminded me of this and why am I mentioning it now? I received the following report of the local qualifier at Forfar from Jill Macdonald.

"We played the final of the Henderson Bishop on Monday, February 7, against Barbara Sheriff, Marnie Ewart, Helen Watson and Sandi Buchan. The game was slow to begin with but a steal of three to Team Sherriff put them 5-2 in front. This didn’t damper the spirits of Team Nicoll as they came back fighting with a five in next end. A four in the last end ended the game 12-6.

Winners for this year are Carolyn Nicoll (skip), Jill Macdonald (subbing for Alison Orr), Anne Shaw and Lillian Carnegie."

L-R: Lillian Carnegie, Carolyn Nicoll, Anne Shaw and Jill Macdonald. Photo by David Hoskins from Photos on Location.